How a two-hour commute is improving my mental health and actually gives me my free time back

I used to hate the idea of commuting, but it certainly has its benefits

Nicholas Martin
3 min readSep 4, 2019
Photo by Zac Durant on Unsplash

Before I started work at Plum Guide, there was admittedly an air of uncertainty as to whether I could stand the commute into work... after all, I had gone from a quick 5-minute drive to almost two hours on public transport, and as someone who loves to drive, public transport was certainly far from appealing as I hate crowded places.

My routine is certainly something most people would hate the idea of, considering it takes about 2 hours each way to get to work. That’s four hours of my life getting wasted every day.

Or is it?

I now get up at 5:30 am every day

I’ve never been a morning person and always seemed to struggle to get up before work. However, in the three weeks that I have been commuting, I’ve not snoozed my 5:30 am alarm once. I now get up as soon as my alarm goes off, which is in stark contrast to when I was working at the previous company as every morning was a real struggle to get up.

I honestly thought I was suffering from severe fatigue caused by an undiagnosed illness, but I’m not so sure of that anymore. I…

--

--